Skip to content

What time is World Snooker Championship 2022 final? TV channel, streaming, betting odds for Judd Trump vs. Ronnie O’Sullivan

The grandest tournament in snooker will reach a conclusion in the coming days after an enthralling fortnight in Sheffield.

The World Snooker Championship final begins on May 1 following two engrossing semi-finals between four players who have all got their hands on the trophy at least eleven in their careers: Ronnie O’Sullivan, John Higgins, Judd Trump and Mark Williams.

First it was Trump surviving a Crucible classic against Williams, winning 17-16 after the match went to a deciding frame. Then O’Sullivan eased past Higgins 17-11 to secure his eighth final at this event.

Here, Sporting News runs through the key details ahead of the final, including the start time, how to watch, and the latest betting odds.

MORE: Is Ronnie O’Sullivan snooker’s GOAT? Ranking the game’s top five players in history

What time is the 2022 World Snooker Championship final?

The 2022 World Snooker Championship final begins at 13:00 local time (BST) on Sunday, May 1 at The Crucible Theater in Sheffield. The second session is due to start six hours later.

For viewers in the United States and Canada, that means a start time of 08:00 ET. In Australia, the action will get underground at 22:00 AEST.

Day two follows the same format: a start time of 13:00 BST/ 08:00 ET/ 22:00 AESTwith the fourth and final session off and running six hours later.

What is the format of the World Snooker Championship final?

The final will start on May 1 and come to a conclusion on May 2.

It will be the longest match of the tournament with a maximum of 35 frames to be played, and the winner being the first to 18.

There are two sessions on May 1. The afternoon one is eight frames long and the evening action is slightly longer at nine frames.

Eight more will be played on the afternoon of May 2 followed by a maximum of 10 to be played until a winner is crowned in the evening.

How to watch the 2022 World Snooker Championship final

UK USES Canada Australia
Date May 1-2 May 1-2 May 1-2 May 1-3
Time 13:00 BST 08:00 ET 08:00 ET 22:00 AEST
TV-channel BBC 1,2,4,Red Button
streaming BBC iPlayer, Eurosport DAZN DAZN

The BBC will be the main port of call for UK viewers to get their fill of the snooker. The action will be televised on BBC One, Two and Four during the competition.

You can also watch the snooker through the Red Button facility and on iPlayer, and also stream match action directly on the BBC website.

Eurosport will also be showing the tournament on its channels, and you can also stream matches on discovery+.

in the United States and Canadaviewers can follow the action live via DAZN.

If you’re in Australiayou can access coverage of the action through the website and app.

2022 World Snooker Championship betting odds

*Odds as of Saturday, April 30

To win the tournament: UK (Skybet) USA (Draft Kings) Canada (Sportsinteraction)
Ronnie O’Sullivan 4/6
Judd Trump 10/11

Six-time champion O’Sullivan is the favorite to win the final, although Trump moving to evens after his thrilling win over Williams shows the bookies believe this could be a close affair.

Williams fought back spectacularly to take the match to a deciding frame, with Trump eventually getting over the line.

O’Sullivan, the world No. 1, had an easier time against an out-of-sorts Higgins, and it is difficult to look past the 46-year-old when it comes to the final — especially with the chance to match Stephen Hendry’s record in his sights.

Where is the 2022 World Snooker Championship held?

For the 46th successive year, the tournament is being held at the Crucible Theater in Sheffield, England.

All 31 matches over the 15 days of action are played at the venue, with two matches being played simultaneously until the semi-finals, when the venue layout is altered so that only one table is used.

MORE: Full tournament bracket, draw and results for 2022 World Snooker Championship

World Snooker Championship 2022 seeds

Seed Player 2022 Finish Best past Championship result
one Mark Selby (England) 2nd round 4x champion (2014, 2016, 2017 & 2021)
two Ronnie O’Sullivan (England) Final 6x Champions (2001, 2004, 2008, 2012, 2013 & 2020)
3 Neil Robertson (Australia) 2nd round 1x champion (2010)
4 Judd Trump (England) Final 1x champion (2019)
5 Kyren Wilson (England) 2nd round Finalists (2020)
6 John Higgins (Scotland) Semifinal 4x champion (1998, 2007, 2009 & 2011)
7 Zhao Xintong (Chinese) 2nd round 1st round (2019)
8 Mark Williams (Wales) Semifinal 3x champion (2000, 2003 & 2018)
9 Barry Hawkins (England) 1st round Finalist (2013)
10 Shaun Murphy (England) 1st round 1x champion (2005)
eleven Luca Brecel (Belgium) 1st round 1st round (2019)
12 Stuart Bingham (England) Quarter-final 1x champion (2015)
13 Anthony McGill (Scotland) 2nd Round Semi finalist (2020)
14 Jack Lisowski (England) Quarter-final 2nd round (2018 & 2021)
fifteen Mark Allen (Northern Ireland) 2nd round Semi finalist (2009)
16 Yao Bingtao (China) Quarter-final 2nd round (2020 & 2021)
Stephen Hendry takes a shot during the World Snooker Championships in 2012

Who has won the most World Snooker Championships?

Stephen Hendry holds the record for the most World Snooker Championship titles in the modern era, having won seven times.

Ray Reardon, Steve Davis, and Ronnie O’Sullivan have each won the tournament six times.

John Higgins and Mark Selby, last year’s champion, have four trophy wins to their names, while Mark Williams and John Spencer have each won three.

Walter Donaldson and Alex Higgins were world champions on two occasions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.